The British National Curriculum (BNC), also known as the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), is used worldwide, including Kidato School, Mt Kenya Academy, Rift Valley Academy, Makini School, and Riara School, among many others. It is based on the education system in England and is designed to provide students with a broad and balanced education.

The BNC is divided into four key stages:

  • Key Stage 1: ages 5-7
  • Key Stage 2: ages 7-11
  • Key Stage 3: ages 11-14
  • Key Stage 4: ages 14-16

Essential reading: Exploring the Four Key Stages of the British National Curriculum: A Guide to What Students Can Expect to Learn and Achieve at Kidato School.

Each key stage has objectives and learning outcomes that students are expected to achieve. The curriculum covers various subjects, including English, mathematics, science, history, geography, art, music, physical education, and more.

One of the main advantages of the BNC is its focus on developing a well-rounded student. The curriculum encourages students to think critically, communicate effectively, and be creative in their problem-solving. It also prepares students for further education and work by providing a solid foundation in core subjects.

Another advantage of the BNC is its flexibility. Schools have the freedom to adapt the curriculum to meet the needs of their students. This allows for a personalised approach to education and ensures that each student reaches their full potential.

In addition, the BNC is internationally recognised and respected, which can benefit students who plan to study or work abroad.

Overall, the British National Curriculum provides a comprehensive and challenging education that prepares students for success in the 21st century. Its flexibility and international recognition make it an attractive option for schools and students worldwide.

Share this post